Florida Sports Hall of Fame Announces New Leadership for 2024-2025 Includes First Female President in Organization’s History

The Florida Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the appointment of new officers to its esteemed board of directors for 2024 and 2025. The new leadership team, which will take the helm beginning January 1, 2024, brings a wealth of expertise and dedication to the organization that has been honoring and recognizing the state’s biggest sports stars since 1961. The newly appointed officers are as follows:


Ginger KaneGinger Kane – President

For the past 12 years, Ginger has served as president of TKO, a branding and design firm founded in 1992 and located in Orlando, FL. She has been a member of the board since 2015 and on the executive committee since 2019. She is a past board member of Florida Citrus Sports and past president of Athlete Connections Foundation. She is the first female to lead the Florida Sports Hall of Fame.


Keyna CoryKeyna Cory – President-Elect

Keyna Cory is President of Public Affairs Consultants. Keyna has been involved with sports her entire life. As a Junior Bowler, she was the Junior Orange Bowl Champion in 1972 and was a member of the University of Florida Bowling Team. Football has always been her passion and she was the first woman to be chair of the Carquest Bowl in 1995. Over the years, she has worked with the late Jim Brown and his Amer-I-Can program and currently works with the bowl games in Florida on marketing opportunities.


John RegerJohn Reger – Secretary

John has an extensive background in all areas of the golf industry. As a 42-year member of the PGA of America, John has fulfilled a variety of roles including golf professional, tournament announcer, golf course owner, association officer, tournament player, broadcaster, consultant, golf manufacturer, promoter, golf writer, golf course developer and student of the game.


John KearneyJohn Kearney – Treasurer

In addition to serving as Treasurer of the Board for the past four years, Mr. Kearney has owned, operated and been an officer of many companies throughout his career. His principal involvement and expertise include educational and training organizations, investments and finance, taxation, real estate development and construction, simulation and training.


Rick-HatcherRick Hatcher – Past Chair

Rick moves into the “Past Chair” position after serving as President/Chairman for the last two years. He is the current Executive Director of the Treasure Coast Sports Commission and is a recognized leader in the Sports Tourism Industry with 20 plus years of experience with the Sports Commissions and Convention and Visitors Bureaus.


“As leaders in their respective fields, these officers bring a diverse set of skills and a shared passion for sports excellence to the Florida Sports Hall of Fame,” immediate past-president Rick Hatcher said. “Their collective experience will play a crucial role in advancing the organization’s mission to honor and celebrate the outstanding achievements of Florida’s sports legends.”

Board members include Pedro Araujo; Dean Baker; Scott Bates; Ron Book; Nick Doyle; Steve Eaves; Jackie Hayter; Jim McDavid; Matt Morrall; Chris Nicholas, Eli Nortelus, Steve Perry, Gary Pyott, Barry Smith, Nora Lee Smith, Angela Suggs and Alan Verlander.

The Florida Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving and showcasing the rich history of sports in the Sunshine State. With the addition of these new officers, the organization is poised to enter an exciting chapter, further solidifying its position as a premier institution in the world of sports recognition. For media inquiries or more information, please contact Ginger Kane at ginger@flasportshof.org.

About the Florida Sports Hall of Fame

Celebrating its 62nd year, The Florida Sports Hall of Fame was started by the Florida Sports Writers and Sportscasters Association to recognize and honor Florida’s greatest sports figures and events and leverage this collective celebrity to promote fitness awareness, education and sports activities among our state’s youth and adults. Equally important is the promotion of the qualities of discipline and honor among sports participants. The Hall includes 289 individual members representing more than 40 sports or sports-related activities. Memorabilia of members can be found at the Florida Sports Hall of Fame attraction located in the MidFlorida Events Center in Port St. Lucie, FL. For more information, visit flasportshof.org.